Biographical Database*

Writers | Artists | Editors | Publishers | Titles | Characters

*(This page is currently under construction).

Lester Dent (October 12, 1904-March 11, 1959) was a prolific pulp fiction author from Missouri, best known as the creator and main author of the series of novels about the superhuman scientist and adventurer, Doc Savage.
Norman Blaine Saunders (January 1, 1907-March 7, 1989) was a prolific commercial artist who produced paintings for pulp magazines, paperbacks, men's adventure magazines, comic books and trading cards.
Harold Brainerd Hersey (Apr 11, 1893-Feb. 1964) was a pulp editor and publisher, and published several volumes of poetry. His pulp industry observations were published in hardback as Pulpwood Editor (1937).
Street & Smith Publications, Inc. (1855-1959) was a New York City publisher specializing in inexpensive paperbacks, pulp magazines, and dime novels. They also published comic books and sporting yearbooks.
Amazing Stories was an American science fiction magazine launched in April 1926 by Hugo Gernsback's Experimenter Publishing that survived for almost eighty years. It was the first magazine devoted solely to science fiction.
The Shadow, created by Walter Gibson in 1931, was a mysterious figure cloaked in black who fought mobsters, evil scientists, crazed old men and foreign invaders with two blazing automatic handguns and a chilling laugh.